Author Topic: Very Poor Thumbnail quality  (Read 16608 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BevS97

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Very Poor Thumbnail quality
« on: November 02, 2002, 10:47:11 AM »
I have my gallery set up to auto generate the thumbnails using GD Bibliothek,  and I have Compression off, and quality = 100.

the first few images had nice looking thumbnails,  but the latest one's are very poor quality.  I haven't changed anything regarding the thumbnails in the setup.

here's a good one


and a recent one

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Very Poor Thumbnail quality
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2002, 04:08:56 PM »
GD is not very good for resizing images anyway. maybe u should think about installing ImageMagic, if u can.
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline BevS97

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Very Poor Thumbnail quality
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2002, 04:15:35 PM »
is it free? and where would I find it?

Offline BevS97

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Very Poor Thumbnail quality
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2002, 04:22:17 PM »
to answer my own question,  it is free and it's here
http://www.imagemagick.org/

but it's not clear what I need to download, and where I would install it.

Bev

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Very Poor Thumbnail quality
« Reply #4 on: November 03, 2002, 01:53:48 AM »
well, try this:
ftp://ftp.fifi.org/pub/ImageMagick/binaries/
then if u use windows, then u'll need put exact path/with file convert.exe were u install IM in 4images settings:
ex. D:/ImageMagick/convert.exe
if linux, then /home/ImageMagic/covert  (not sure about linux, never used)
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline BevS97

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Very Poor Thumbnail quality
« Reply #5 on: November 03, 2002, 09:12:07 AM »
so,  are you saying I just install it on my pc???  Surely I need to put it up on my website someplace?  How would my other members use it, if it is only installed on my pc.

Bev

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Very Poor Thumbnail quality
« Reply #6 on: November 04, 2002, 12:43:34 AM »
well, non of your users uses PHP when they open your website, your server does everything and output for them the result.
same with ImageMagic. u just tell 4images script where its installed.
then when time comes to change size of your photos, or make thumbnails, the script will run ImageMagick. that's all.
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline bxmas13

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • Best Tasting Fat Burning Meal Replacement
poor thumbnail quality
« Reply #7 on: November 09, 2002, 12:20:28 AM »
Just found a way to keep the thumbnail quality high using GD_Bibliothek/GD_Library.

If you edit the /includes/image_utils.php with the following:

Scroll down to the lines

if (defined('CONVERT_IS_GD2') && CONVERT_IS_GD2 == 1) {
    $thumb = imagecreatetruecolor($width, $height);
  }
  else {
    $thumb = imagecreate($width, $height);
}
  $image_create_handle = "imagecreatefrom".$types[$image_info[2]];

Change it to this:   

if (defined('CONVERT_IS_GD2') && CONVERT_IS_GD2 == 1) {
    $thumb = imagecreatetruecolor($width, $height);
  }
  else {
    $thumb = imagecreatetruecolor($width, $height);
}
  $image_create_handle = "imagecreatefrom".$types[$image_info[2]];

Every thumbnail I create with this change has turned out perfect.  I hope this helps.

B.C.   :idea:
For a great-tasting, all-natural, highly nutritious fat burning meal replacement visit http://www.natural-edge.com

Offline legolasbloom

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Very Poor Thumbnail quality
« Reply #8 on: November 18, 2002, 09:58:02 PM »
thanks so much! it worked for me!

Offline heiko

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
not for me...cry...
« Reply #9 on: November 18, 2002, 11:19:14 PM »
Quote from: legolasbloom
thanks so much! it worked for me!



:cry:

Fatal error: imagecreatetruecolor(): requires GD 2.0 or later in


I got this....crumbel crumbel...provider...provider...:-(

Heiko

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Very Poor Thumbnail quality
« Reply #10 on: November 19, 2002, 03:25:09 AM »
bxmas13, it seems that php server doesnt correctly define what version GD is installed.
heiko, do u have same problem with GD 1?
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline jengwen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • http://www.jenrichardsphotography.com
Image resize/resample
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2003, 09:46:19 PM »
The change above fixed my colors, but the thumbnail still looked pretty bad.  There is another if statement shortly after the truecolor one for imageresize or imageresample.  I changed that one too and now my thumbnails look great!

Offline undrline

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Very Poor Thumbnail quality
« Reply #12 on: August 21, 2006, 09:54:51 PM »
That's some bad code you're asking it to do . . . you're telling an if-statement to do the same thing regardless of whether the criteria are true.

If it works, I guess, there's no harm, but I wouldn't encourage others to try it.

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Re: Very Poor Thumbnail quality
« Reply #13 on: August 22, 2006, 06:57:18 AM »
This is such old topic...since then a solution of this issue was added in the FAQ...
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)