• Can I use FTP to batch upload images? 3 0 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?  (Read 168913 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chris

  • 4images Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.487
  • Did u ever stop to think and then forget to start?
    • View Profile
Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« on: December 12, 2002, 01:14:25 AM »
You must be an administrator to do this.

1.  Use "Add Categories" in the admin control panel to create your categories. DO NOT USE FTP to create new directories.  This is very important since the directories where images and thumbnails are to be stored is automatically created by 4images when the category is created.

2.  Once created, go to "Edit Categories" and move your mouse over a specific category in the list into which you want to upload new images.  Your browser status bar will display a URL for the category.  At the end of this url will be "?cat_id=" and a number.  Make a note of this number as it corresponds to the directory names used by that category for storing images and thumbnails.

3.  Use FTP to upload your images to 4images/data/media/<number> and your thumbnails to 4images/data/thumbnails/<number> where <number> is the number for your category.  In order to get 4images to pick up your thumbnails, they must have the exact same file names as your images.

4.  Go back to the admin control panel and click "Check New Images".  Select the category into which you just uploaded your files.  4images scans the corresponding directory for new files, adds them to the database and automatically assigns the category.

5. (optional) You can also use the auto-thumbnailer to create the thumbnails for you instead of uploading your own.  Follow all the steps described above and just skip the uploading of thumbnails.

6. (optional) You can easily edit multiple images at once or at one page with (images that already added) [MOD] Batch Copy/Move/Edit Images


---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If you are uploading files to several categories and find step 4 to be time consuming, you might consider installing the mod
"Check new images in ALL categories"

You can also install these "Multi Upload" Modifications so that your users are able to multiupload images:
« Last Edit: February 21, 2010, 03:25:32 PM by kai »

Offline slashbabe247

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2005, 10:19:15 PM »
I still have no clue what to do to upload all of my images instead of just one image, I did everything and it tells me transfer failed.

Offline nniwelt

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2005, 10:39:56 PM »
Does anyone here can help on subject, uploading images using ftp client?
Is there a easy way of doing this?
By the way, what is batch upload?

Offline donpedro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
    • Baden bei Wien - Fotos einer Stadt
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2005, 12:18:50 AM »
Hi,

it works exactly like Chris describes it in the beginning of this threat.

Batch upload is the upload via ftp client.

dp

Offline nniwelt

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2005, 12:56:53 PM »
Thanks, but Is that only way of doing this?
I still have problems doing that?

Norbert

Offline donpedro

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
    • View Profile
    • Baden bei Wien - Fotos einer Stadt
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2005, 10:36:49 PM »
hmm...  the other way is doing it picture by picture via the admin

thats the way I handle it ...

dp

TheOracle

  • Guest
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2005, 11:48:03 AM »
Quote

hmm...  the other way is doing it picture by picture via the admin


Actually, the other way(s) would be by using these two MODs to save you a huge time process :

http://www.4homepages.de/forum/index.php?topic=8582.0
http://www.4homepages.de/forum/index.php?topic=4659.0

;)

Offline mombassa

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
The FTP batch upload works great
« Reply #7 on: December 12, 2005, 03:18:32 AM »
Whoever is having trouble either does not know how to use their FTP software or should read the instructions again.

Offline georgOBE

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #8 on: December 15, 2005, 04:44:15 PM »
Hi,

habe ännliche Frage, habe diverse Verzeichnisse bereits im Web liegen, kann ich die importieren oder "darf" ich bild für bild von Hand einlesen ?

Danke & Gruß
Georg

Offline tatty

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #9 on: February 23, 2006, 05:56:17 PM »
Thanks a lot for this... It will save me loads of time uploading all my video captures  :mrgreen:

Offline HaiTromHoaRung

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #10 on: March 18, 2006, 12:53:51 AM »
so i dont have to upload the images to the thumbnail folder rigth ? once i uploaded to the media/file # then, just go to the admin center to check for new images, and then there u can chose the auto thumbnail ???
or i have to upload those pictures to the thumbnail folder first ???

and one more question.
like the original image is 2mb
after i uploaded and chose the auto resize to 800 pixels
then the size of that image will reduce it right ? or still 2mb ?

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #11 on: March 18, 2006, 01:30:07 AM »
so i dont have to upload the images to the thumbnail folder rigth ? once i uploaded to the media/file # then, just go to the admin center to check for new images, and then there u can chose the auto thumbnail ???
or i have to upload those pictures to the thumbnail folder first ???
correct, dont need to upload thumbnails


and one more question.
like the original image is 2mb
after i uploaded and chose the auto resize to 800 pixels
then the size of that image will reduce it right ? or still 2mb ?
The file size is depends on image dimentions, its type and its compression (quality).
As long as you keep image quality between 75-85 (its in the settings and only applyed to JPEG images) the final file size of the resized images should not exceed 50-150kb
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline HaiTromHoaRung

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #12 on: March 18, 2006, 02:03:58 AM »
thanks alot
but error


also it's only added 10 images at once.
Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 30 seconds exceeded in /home2/choadaoo/public_html/lienhoa/gallery/includes/image_utils.php on line 80

and it's shown that error. so i have to re- check with new images again and do it again.

Offline IcEcReaM

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
    • View Profile
    • My little Testboard
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #13 on: March 18, 2006, 08:34:08 PM »
maybe a good idea would be,
to make the thumnailer/resizer like the file check mod from vano,
also integrated with an autoreload script (per javascript),
to avoid timeouts?
Coding is a everlasting competition between programmers who tries to write larger, better and idiot-safe programs and the universe producing larger and stupider idiots...
...so far the universe won
bump

Offline PIT

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Can I use FTP to batch upload images?
« Reply #14 on: March 20, 2006, 10:45:38 AM »
хм кто нить раздел FAQ на русском бы сделал или тут вообще на нем никто не говорит? :roll: