Author Topic: I have solved my problem! This is how i did it!  (Read 6988 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jcpr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
I have solved my problem! This is how i did it!
« on: September 17, 2002, 11:37:32 PM »
Hello Everybody:

Just to tell you that i'm finally generating autothumbnails.

This is how I did it...

1 - Forget ImageMagick

Forget ImageMagick. Go for the GD library, which is an extension for php, already included in the instalation.

Edit your php.ini and uncomment the line

extension=php_gd.dll

then restart windows.

if you get an error similar to "unable to load dinamic library php_gd.dll", get a copy of libsasl.dll and put it in the directory that holds php.exe.

restart it again, if needed.

then go to the settings of admin site of 4images and change the library to GD.

now try generating the autothumbnails...

voilá! there you have it...

To Jan:

Just a suggestion Jan, put this hint in the install documentation. It helps a lot. At least, it helped me...

Offline Nicky

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.195
    • View Profile
I have solved my problem! This is how i did it!
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2002, 12:03:20 AM »
;)

ImageMagick working fine for me on a w2k prof, apache 2.0.40 (IIS5 too), php 4.2.3, mysql 3.23.52 (c:/imagemagick/convert.exe)...

for GD:
open your php.ini
and edit this line
Quote

; Directory in which the loadable extensions (modules) reside.
extension_dir = ./

to
Code: [Select]

extension_dir = ./extensions

and you don't have to restart windows,
and you can uncomment ;extension=php_zlib.dll
to get the 2nd 4images download button where you can download your pics as as ZIP file

anyway:
that was maybe a helpful hint, but have nothing with 4images installation/configuration to do...
http://www.4homepages.de/4images/systemvoraussetzungen.php
cheers
Nicky
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question ! (© by V@no)
- please read the Forum Rules ...
- please study the FAQ ...
- please try to Search for your answer ...

nicky.net 4 4images
Signature stolen from mawenzi

Offline jcpr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
I have solved my problem! This is how i did it!
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2002, 10:21:29 AM »
I just said what i said, because i saw a lot of questions in this forum that refered to the same problem... :)

How did you get your imagemagick to work? :?:

the program works fine on my pc, but i get those (usual?) errors of
Quote
Error creating thumbnail
and those lines in the apache log
Quote
[File or directory not found]
when they are there. :x

Any tips on this? :?:

Anyway, it works super with GD, so i'm not expecting to change to imagemagick.  :)

Thanks on the tip :idea:  on the zlib. I'll certainly use it. :D

Greets

Jose

Offline Owen

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
I have solved my problem! This is how i did it!
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2002, 05:15:04 PM »
Where can I find php.ini? Can't find it in my 4images directory :(

I hope this can solve my problem with bad thumbnails created by GD. see for yourself: http://members.lycos.nl/fcbasel/4images/index.php

Some are OK, but these I made myself.

Offline jcpr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
I have solved my problem! This is how i did it!
« Reply #4 on: September 20, 2002, 12:28:19 PM »
*** This explanation is only for windows ***

The php.ini can be in different places.

You can even have more than one.

There should be one php.ini ( the default one ) in your System directory, tipically your system or system32 directory.

make a new text file and name it test.php

than  put this inside it:

Code: [Select]
<?
phpinfo();
?>


and save it.

Then, goto your web browser and open the file.

If php is installed correctly, you'll see which php.ini file is being used ( you'll see the path where the php.ini is )

Got it?

Jose

----------------------------------------------------------------------------

By the way, the thumbnails look perfect on your website, so i don't know what is your problem

Offline Owen

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
I have solved my problem! This is how i did it!
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2002, 01:22:48 PM »
OK got it, thnx!

I was looking for a php.ini in the 4images dir, silly me