Author Topic: Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly  (Read 16130 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline newyorker23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« on: March 24, 2003, 01:47:51 PM »
I appologize if this problem has been solved before. I already searched and could not find any matches at all.
I'm using version 1.6
All of a sudden I get the following error when trying to auto-thumbnail


GD library error.
Check module settings.

Autothumbnail just stopped working today. I haven't made any changes at all.

I say someone had mentioned patch for settings.php? Where can this patch be found? I don't see a patches section. When I searched the forum I again came up with nothing.

PS are there clear instructions on how to upgrade? I'll do that if it solves my problem.

Offline Jan

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5.024
    • View Profile
    • 4images - Image Gallery Management System
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2003, 03:11:56 PM »
Since PHP 4.3.0, GD is built in with PHP. Maybe your host has updated PHP. Try this in includes/image_utils.php:

Replace
Code: [Select]
if (!extension_loaded("gd")) {
  $convert_options['convert_error'] = "<b class=\"marktext\">".$lang['gd_error']."</b><br />\n".$lang['check_module_settings'];
}

with
Code: [Select]
     $convert_options['convert_error'] = "<b class=\"marktext\">".$lang['gd_error']."</b><br />\n".$lang['check_module_settings'];
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
1. Forum rules
2. FAQ
3. Search

Offline Streetwise

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2003, 07:32:26 PM »
I too have the same issue as NewYorker23. If I upload an .jpg image, no thumbnail is generated. If I click on "Auto-Thumbnailer" I receive the error:

"GD library error.
Check module settings."

I've tried the image_utils.php fix *exactly* as shown, same error. I installed ImageMagick and tried that, but only get blank pages when I click on "Auto-Thumbnailer". I also tried the image_utils.php fix for that as well (by turning off some of the lines of code), but then I get a slew of error messages when I click on the "Auto-Thumbnailer" link.

I am running PHP 4.3.1 in a Windows environment. Image4 is installed in an internal network.

My goal is to upload a .jpg image and have a thumnail auto generated. What is the best approach? Should I just stick with GD? Use ImageMagick? Should I drop back to an earlier version of PHP? I'm just trying to get a sense for what is supposed to happen when I upload an image.

Thanks in advance.

Dave Anderson

Offline Jan

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5.024
    • View Profile
    • 4images - Image Gallery Management System
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2003, 07:56:45 PM »
Sorry, my fault.  :oops:
You should remove the whole part:
Code: [Select]
if (!extension_loaded("gd")) {
  $convert_options['convert_error'] = "<b class=\"marktext\">".$lang['gd_error']."</b><br />\n".$lang['check_module_settings'];
}

Jan
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
1. Forum rules
2. FAQ
3. Search

Offline newyorker23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2003, 08:12:05 PM »
I'm confused....
Do I replace that section or just comment it out? If it is just comment it out... I already tried that... Same error.  I saw that suggestion already in someone elses post.  I commented out that section of code.

Am I better of upgrading to 1.7? If so is there a guide that I can read?
I'm prepared to totally uninstall 1.6 and reload all my images to get this to work.  I just don't want to waste my time if I'm gonna get the same problem.

Offline newyorker23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2003, 08:14:54 PM »
ps it's my iSP that has GD  loaded. I cannot touch that since I don't have root access to the server which GD requires.

Offline Streetwise

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #6 on: March 24, 2003, 08:22:53 PM »
WOOHOO!  :D

I am *SO CLOSE* now, I can taste it!

I made the change to image_utils.php and now when I click on auto_thumbnailer, I get a dialog "search for missing thumbnail". I do the search, come up with a list, but when I try to process the list, I get this error:

Create thumbnail for: 7412 (7412.jpg) ....  
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: imagecreate() in d:\www\imageshare\imagevault\includes\image_utils.php on line 65

Second issue is that when I upload an .jpg image, it doesn't automatically generate a thumbnail. I suppose the two issues are related?

Getting closer,

Dave Anderson

Offline newyorker23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #7 on: March 24, 2003, 08:27:46 PM »
Which change did you make? The replace or the remove/comment out? I'm confused about that one point.

Offline Streetwise

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #8 on: March 24, 2003, 08:31:11 PM »
Opps. I'm confused now too!  :roll:

I went with your most recent suggestion. I went to the image_utils.php file, looked for the code below, and deleted it. That's all I did. Was that not what you meant?

 
if (!extension_loaded("gd")) {
  $convert_options['convert_error'] = "<b class=\"marktext\">".$lang['gd_error']."</b><br />\n".$lang['check_module_settings'];
}

My code now looks like:

case "gd":
        break;
case "netpbm":



Thanks

Dave

Offline Streetwise

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #9 on: March 24, 2003, 08:36:57 PM »
Here's a thought:

Does the default path need to be in a '4images' directory? I installed into 'imagevault'. Does that make a difference?

Thanks

Dave

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #10 on: March 24, 2003, 09:00:53 PM »
Quote from: Streetwise
Here's a thought:

Does the default path need to be in a '4images' directory? I installed into 'imagevault'. Does that make a difference?

Thanks

Dave

no
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline newyorker23

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #11 on: March 24, 2003, 09:07:15 PM »
It seems when I ask one question at a time I get a better response. Will upgrading to 1.7 solve my problem?

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #12 on: March 24, 2003, 09:10:16 PM »
Quote from: newyorker23
It seems when I ask one question at a time I get a better response.

I get frustrating when see many questions at ones :? :| ;)
Quote from: newyorker23
Will upgrading to 1.7 solve my problem?

Just intall fresh 4images in different dir with using new database, and see what happend. ;)
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline Streetwise

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #13 on: March 24, 2003, 09:11:40 PM »
Jan/V@no:

Any more thoughts on this error:

Create thumbnail for: 7412 (7412.jpg) ....
Fatal error: Call to undefined function: imagecreate() in d:\www\imageshare\imagevault\includes\image_utils.php on line 65

Is gd still the best way to go for jpg images?

Thanks

Dave

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Auto Thumbnail Stopped Working Suddenly
« Reply #14 on: March 24, 2003, 09:14:23 PM »
did u try to change
Code:
define('CONVERT_IS_GD2', 0);

to
Code:
define('CONVERT_IS_GD2', 1);

in includes/constants.php :?:

Quote from: Streetwise
Second issue is that when I upload an .jpg image, it doesn't automatically generate a thumbnail. I suppose the two issues are related?

when u are logged in as admin auto thumbnails dont work (as planned).
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)