Author Topic: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments  (Read 11032 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Chelle

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Hiya

I wanna remove post headline in the gallery ..

They do not need to post this headline before they can leave me a comment ..

I removed the post headline  box from comment form but when i try  to post a comment
It shows a error

Please enter headline .. which I have already remove this box from the form


Please help me urgently

ty in advance

Offline son_gokou

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2007, 03:45:16 AM »
This would be a great MOD

Offline son_gokou

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2007, 03:54:45 AM »
Ok

In details.php removing

Code: [Select]
if ($comment_headline == "")  {
      $msg .= (($msg != "") ? "<br />" : "").$lang['headline_required'];
      $error = 1;
    }

Offline Loda

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
    • Fotosucht Schweiz
Re: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2007, 01:03:36 PM »
or..
replace this
Code: [Select]
if ($comment_headline == "")  {
      $msg .= (($msg != "") ? "<br />" : "").$lang['headline_required'];
      $error = 1;
    }
with this
Code: [Select]
if ($comment_headline == "")  {
      $msg .= (($msg != "") ? "<br />" : "").$lang['headline_required'];
      $error = 0;
    }

Offline son_gokou

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
    • View Profile
Re: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2007, 06:14:53 PM »
Even better!

Offline gls

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2007, 05:54:07 PM »
I have done what Loda suggested here, but when I as administrator go to edit a comment, it still requires that a headline be entered. How can I edit the admin php files to stop this? Which file? What to change?

Thank you.


Offline gls

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2007, 09:29:04 PM »
I have done that now, however, when I as administrator go to edit a comment, I get a warning that says, "Please recheck the marked fields," and "Headline" is starred with an asterisk in red. I need to remove the necessity of a a headline from the admin php files also. I have tried, but what I did did not work.

Please help.

Offline Jenn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2007, 12:30:06 PM »
Open Comments.php in admin folder

Find and remove:

Quote
  show_input_row($lang['field_headline'], "comment_headline", $comment['comment_headline'], $textinput_size);

and

Quote
  show_input_row($lang['field_headline_contains'], "comment_headline", "", $textinput_size);





Offline gls

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2007, 05:25:16 PM »
That almost works! Now the field for the headline is gone in the admin panel, but when I click the save changes button it still says, "Please recheck the marked fields" at the top.

Thank you, Jenn, for trying to help me. Of course I have no idea what to do next. :(

Offline Jenn

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
    • View Profile
Re: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments
« Reply #10 on: April 10, 2007, 01:44:37 AM »
Also removed this as well.

Quote
  if ($comment_headline == "") {
    $error['comment_headline'] = 1;



Offline Acidgod

  • Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 2.421
  • It's me?
    • View Profile
    • Flash-Webdesign
Re: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments
« Reply #11 on: April 10, 2007, 12:55:20 PM »
or change in the comment_form.html

<input type="text" name="comment_headline" size="30" value="{comment_headline}" class="commentinput" />
to
<input type="hidden" name="comment_headline" value=" "  />

Thats need no changes on the Scripts... (o:
And you can make Updates without any problem...

Offline gls

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 37
    • View Profile
Re: Help me please ... How do I remove ... post headline in comments
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2007, 04:37:03 AM »
Also removed this as well.

Quote
  if ($comment_headline == "") {
    $error['comment_headline'] = 1;
Jenn, your posts were helpful and together they solved the problem. I appreciate it. :)