Author Topic: Links? and ..... layout  (Read 98510 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Art By Vicky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • ABV Arts Enterprises
I Got It!
« Reply #15 on: October 24, 2002, 04:02:34 AM »
Never mind.  I got it.  When I added the line, it somehow added several returns after the final ?>.  I just deleted those and added a return before the final ?> and it's working now.  Thank you for all your help.  You've been great.

Would it be an imposition for me to ask one more questions?  I hope not.  Is there a way for a user to change the order in which their images appear.  I know I can do it in admin, but is there a way for the user to do it?
ABVarts.com
RoundTableWebDesign.com
ArtByVicky.com
League of Animal Artists - AnimalArtists.org

Offline Chris

  • 4images Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 4.487
  • Did u ever stop to think and then forget to start?
    • View Profile
Can only sort
« Reply #16 on: October 24, 2002, 04:12:09 AM »
You can't explicitly set the order of the images as with the categories.  Even the admin control panel only lets you sort the images by date, by name, etc.

So the only way a user can set the display order is to choose a naming convention.  So if the admin CP setting is to sort by name, their images are shown in the desired order.

Make sense?

Example:  (admin setting sorts images by name)

01 - Picture One
02 - My Picture Two
03 - A Third Picture

By the way, it's the trailing carriage returns AFTER the "?>" that causes the problem.  It's safe to have just a space or single carriage return after the line's semicolon ";" and the "?>"

Offline Art By Vicky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • ABV Arts Enterprises
Links? and ..... layout
« Reply #17 on: October 24, 2002, 04:18:17 AM »
Ok, thanks for replying so quickly.  I think I've got everything under control now.  Thanks for all your help.
ABVarts.com
RoundTableWebDesign.com
ArtByVicky.com
League of Animal Artists - AnimalArtists.org

Offline Jan

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5.024
    • View Profile
    • 4images - Image Gallery Management System
Links? and ..... layout
« Reply #18 on: October 24, 2002, 09:16:44 AM »
What text editor do you use? Be sure to remove everything behind the ?> at the end of the file (spaces etc.).

Jan
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
1. Forum rules
2. FAQ
3. Search

Offline Art By Vicky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • ABV Arts Enterprises
One more problem...
« Reply #19 on: October 25, 2002, 06:45:41 PM »
Sorry to be such a pain, but the $lang code does not display when I add it to my templates.  Here's a snippet of the code as I've got it in the main.php file:

Code: [Select]
$lang['last_action'] = "Last Activity:";
$lang['email'] = "Email:";
$lang['email_confirm'] = "Confirm email:";
$lang['homepage'] = "League Bio Page:";
$lang['icq'] = "ICQ ID:";
$lang['yahoo'] = "Yahoo ID:";
$lang['msn'] = "MSN ID:";
$lang['aim'] = "AIM ID:";
$lang['show_email'] = "Show my email address:";
$lang['allow_emails'] = "Receive emails from administrators:";
$lang['invisible'] = "Hide your online status:";
$lang['optional_infos'] = "Optional";
$lang['change_password'] = "Change password";
$lang['old_password'] = "Old password:";
$lang['new_password'] = "New password:";
$lang['new_password_confirm'] = "Confirm new password:";
$lang['lost_password'] = "Enter password again";
$lang['lost_password_msg'] = "In case you forgot your password, enter the email address you have used for registration.";
$lang['user_name'] = "Username:";
$lang['password'] = "Password:";
$lang['first'] = "First Name:";
$lang['last'] = "Last Name:";
$lang['website'] = "Website:";


All the new code I've added shows blank when I add the code to my templates, but any changes I make to code that was already listed is displayed correctly.  Example: I added first to correspond to my new {user_first} db field.  The db part of it works fine, but the words "First Name:" do not show up when I use the {lang_first} in the html code of the templates.  Is there somewhere else that I'm also supposed to put this new code so that the program will recognize it?  Here is the html code from my member_editprofile template:

Code: [Select]
<tr>
            <td class="row1"><b>{lang_first}First Name:</b></td>
            <td class="row1"><input type="text" name="user_first"  size="30" value="{user_first}" class="input" /></td>
          </tr>


As you can see, I had to manually type First Name: in order for it to appear when that page is accessed.  I hope I've provided enough information and was clear enough about my problem.  I hope you're able to help.  Thank you again, in advance for your assistance.

Vicky
ABVarts.com
RoundTableWebDesign.com
ArtByVicky.com
League of Animal Artists - AnimalArtists.org

Offline Jan

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5.024
    • View Profile
    • 4images - Image Gallery Management System
Links? and ..... layout
« Reply #20 on: October 26, 2002, 07:30:30 AM »
Use {lang_user_first}

Jan
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
1. Forum rules
2. FAQ
3. Search

Offline Art By Vicky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • ABV Arts Enterprises
Thank for replying
« Reply #21 on: October 26, 2002, 07:56:38 AM »
Nope. Didn't work.  Changed first & last from {lang_first} & {lang_last} to:

Code: [Select]
<tr>
            <td class="row1"><b>{lang_user_first}</b></td>
            <td class="row1"><input type="text" name="user_first"  size="30" value="{user_first}" class="input" /></td>
          </tr>
<tr>
            <td class="row2"><b>{lang_user_last}</b></td>
            <td class="row2"><input type="text" name="user_last"  size="40" value="{user_last}" class="input" /></td>
          </tr>


and they now show blank (see http://www.animalartists.org/gallery/register.php)

Here's a snippet of the main.php file:

Code: [Select]
$lang['user_name'] = "Username:";
$lang['password'] = "Password:";
$lang['first'] = "First Name:";
$lang['last'] = "Last Name:";
$lang['website'] = "Website:";

$lang['register_msg'] = "Please fill out all fields. Enter a valid email address so we can provide you with your activation code.";
$lang['agreement'] = "Terms of Registration:";


What am I missing?  Heelllppp! (whimper... whimper...)
ABVarts.com
RoundTableWebDesign.com
ArtByVicky.com
League of Animal Artists - AnimalArtists.org

Offline Jan

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5.024
    • View Profile
    • 4images - Image Gallery Management System
Links? and ..... layout
« Reply #22 on: October 26, 2002, 09:46:54 AM »
How does your db_field_definitions.php entries look like?

Jan
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
1. Forum rules
2. FAQ
3. Search

Offline Art By Vicky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • ABV Arts Enterprises
Here they are:
« Reply #23 on: October 26, 2002, 10:17:18 AM »
These were the db_field_definitions.php entries:

Code: [Select]
$additional_user_fields['user_yahoo'] = array($lang['user_yahoo'], "text", 0);
$additional_user_fields['user_msn'] = array($lang['user_msn'], "text", 0);
$additional_user_fields['user_aim'] = array($lang['user_aim'], "text", 0);
$additional_user_fields['user_first'] = array($lang['user_first'], "text", 1);
$additional_user_fields['user_last'] = array($lang['user_last'], "text", 1);
$additional_user_fields['user_website'] = array($lang['user_website'], "text", 0);

?>


I have tried both ways - with the user_ before the word and without it.  Getting very frustrated here.  The db fields are user_*; the main.php entries are ['*'] and the db_field_definition.php entries are now ['*'] and they're still showing blank.
ABVarts.com
RoundTableWebDesign.com
ArtByVicky.com
League of Animal Artists - AnimalArtists.org

Offline Jan

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5.024
    • View Profile
    • 4images - Image Gallery Management System
Links? and ..... layout
« Reply #24 on: October 26, 2002, 10:49:10 AM »
$lang['first'] = "First Name:";
$additional_user_fields['user_first'] = array($lang['user_first'], "text", 1);

must be the same.

Correct:

$lang['user_first'] = "First Name:";
$additional_user_fields['user_first'] = array($lang['user_first'], "text", 1);

Jan
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
1. Forum rules
2. FAQ
3. Search

Offline Art By Vicky

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • ABV Arts Enterprises
Links? and ..... layout
« Reply #25 on: October 27, 2002, 04:08:01 AM »
I had them both without the user_ infront of the word.  They both said 'first' only.  I had tried it once before with both of them with 'user_first' and it didn't work.  I don't know what I did different this time, but its working now.  Thank you very much for all your help and for your patience with me.

Thanks,
Vicky
ABVarts.com
RoundTableWebDesign.com
ArtByVicky.com
League of Animal Artists - AnimalArtists.org

Offline Johanna

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Links? and ..... layout
« Reply #26 on: February 27, 2003, 04:46:54 PM »
Hallo Jan!

Ich hab jetzt mit dieser Anleitung versucht ein zusätzliches Textfeld einzufügen, bekomme aber folgende Fehlermeldung, wenn ich die Startseite aufrufe:

DB Error: Bad SQL Query: SELECT i.image_id, i.cat_id, i.user_id, i.image_name, i.image_description, i.image_keywords, i.image_date, i.image_active, i.image_media_file, i.image_thumb_file, i.image_download_url, i.image_allow_comments, i.image_comments, i.image_downloads, i.image_votes, i.image_rating, i.image_hits, i.user_info, c.cat_name, u.user_name FROM bilder_images i, bilder_categories c LEFT JOIN bilder_users u ON (u.user_id = i.user_id) WHERE i.image_active = 1 AND c.cat_id = i.cat_id AND i.cat_id IN (0, 2, 4, 5, 7, 9, 8, 6) ORDER BY i.image_date DESC LIMIT 3
Unknown column 'i.user_info' in 'field list'

Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in /home/www/web/html/bilder/includes/db_mysql.php on line 116

Gruß

Johanna

Offline Jan

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5.024
    • View Profile
    • 4images - Image Gallery Management System
Links? and ..... layout
« Reply #27 on: February 27, 2003, 04:54:50 PM »
Hast Du auch das entsprechende Feld in der Datenbank angelegt?

Jan
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
1. Forum rules
2. FAQ
3. Search

Offline Johanna

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Links? and ..... layout
« Reply #28 on: February 27, 2003, 04:59:44 PM »
Quote from: Jan
Hast Du auch das entsprechende Feld in der Datenbank angelegt?

Jan


Hab ich gemacht:

user_info  text   Nein    

Gruß

Johanna

Offline Jan

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5.024
    • View Profile
    • 4images - Image Gallery Management System
Links? and ..... layout
« Reply #29 on: February 27, 2003, 07:54:37 PM »
i.user_info sagt mir, dass Du ein zusätzliche Feld für Bilder eingefügt hast. Dann musst Du das Feld in der Tabelle 4images_images hinzufügen. Wenn Du ein User-Feld hinzufügen willst, musst Du das Array $additional_user_fields in db_field_definitions.php verwenden.

Jan
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
1. Forum rules
2. FAQ
3. Search