Author Topic: Thumbnail Image Sort Order  (Read 6624 times)

Offline technobia

• View Profile
Thumbnail Image Sort Order
« on: April 06, 2006, 01:57:27 AM »
Hey all - I am new to 4images and could use a bit of help as follows:

ENVIRONAMENT:
Ver. 1.7.2 is installed. I am only using the thumbnail gallery accessed via the category index page as well as the search feature.  I had another developer set up the site and page templates etc.  All I am doing is adding categories and images.

ISSUE:
I have added a number of images that I would like to display on the thumbnail page in a particular order.  However, no matter what order I add the images, they display in a random order on the page.  I have gone so far as to name the larger image and thumbnail files in a sequential order to no avail. I am not using an auto thumbnail maker, I am uploading them as separate files.

QUESTION:
I really need to control the order in which these thumbnails are displayed.  Is there some way to sort these so they appear in the order I need?

Thanks, Technobia

Offline IcEcReaM

• View Profile
    • My little Testboard
Re: Thumbnail Image Sort Order
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2006, 02:11:03 AM »
wow, i think i never saw a question like this...so detailed...how great would it be, if more users to it like this.

So now the answer.

you can define the sort order in the settings in CP.
there are several options how to sort the images.
e.g.: sort by name, date, downloads...
Coding is a everlasting competition between programmers who tries to write larger, better and idiot-safe programs and the universe producing larger and stupider idiots...
...so far the universe won
bump

Offline V@no

• If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2006, 02:12:43 AM »