• How can I show more new images on home page? 2 0 5 1
Currently:  

Author Topic: How can I show more new images on home page?  (Read 190963 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline thunderstrike

  • 4images Guru
  • *******
  • Posts: 2.327
    • View Profile
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #45 on: August 10, 2007, 12:06:38 AM »
8 steps need when ask question -

- PHP version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- mySQL version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- 4images version
- Post screenshot / URL
- Post code in BB Code (no need full file for code) or post attach file
- It doesn't work. What is say - what is do for no work
- Install MOD ? If so - please say (troubleshooting)
- Read FAQ ? Install Bug fixes ?

Offline webmaster73

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #46 on: August 10, 2007, 12:24:16 AM »
If you would like to show more new images on your 4images homepage, you will need:
Open index.php
Find:
Code: [Select]
$num_new_images = $config['image_cells'];Replace it with:
Code: [Select]
$num_new_images = XX;Where XX is the number of images.

this is nice, but should be a setting in the admin panel, not a mod....



it helps and it works..... and I am thankful to your generous help. I really am.....

I yet believe that this should be a setting in the admin panel, not a mod....

Hacking the code for so many reasons is not a good idea at all. And all hacking has to be re-done over and over at any security patch that touches upon what you changed.




Offline thunderstrike

  • 4images Guru
  • *******
  • Posts: 2.327
    • View Profile
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #47 on: August 10, 2007, 01:53:40 AM »
Textarea in setting and define in constant ... is diff ? Mine is no crack ...
8 steps need when ask question -

- PHP version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- mySQL version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- 4images version
- Post screenshot / URL
- Post code in BB Code (no need full file for code) or post attach file
- It doesn't work. What is say - what is do for no work
- Install MOD ? If so - please say (troubleshooting)
- Read FAQ ? Install Bug fixes ?

Offline webmaster73

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 75
    • View Profile
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #48 on: August 10, 2007, 03:07:13 AM »
Textarea in setting and define in constant ... is diff ? Mine is no crack ...

yes dear, and if tomorrow there is patch or security release that replaces the constants.php, would I need to re-apply those changes or not? of course yes. Why?

Just tell me why ??

As long as it is easily doable to define a new var, why go to file.php and find text_string1 and replace with text_string2 and and ....  ??

Why are not all of those wonderful mods such as "check new images in all categories and subcategories", "exclude certain categories from home" and "include only from this category in home" and "set how many thumbnails to appear on home" included in the core of the script?

How many users like me are hiring outside-your-team independent coders to apply mods and fix non-ascii issues with your own script?

Why do you accept that somebody else receives money for your work ????

Tell me why....

 

Offline thunderstrike

  • 4images Guru
  • *******
  • Posts: 2.327
    • View Profile
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #49 on: August 10, 2007, 03:26:13 AM »
Quote
yes dear, and if tomorrow there is patch or security release that replaces the constants.php, would I need to re-apply those changes or not? of course yes. Why?

FTP Server security - no just 4images.

Quote
Just tell me why ??

Just did !

Quote
As long as it is easily doable to define a new var, why go to file.php and find text_string1 and replace with text_string2 and and ....  ??

To count easy 1-2-3 and save SQL ressourc.

Quote
Why are not all of those wonderful mods such as "check new images in all categories and subcategories", "exclude certain categories from home" and "include only from this category in home" and "set how many thumbnails to appear on home" included in the core of the script?

No author of 4images ... can no answer that - no satis ? Send message to one of admin. They say !

Quote
How many users like me are hiring outside-your-team independent coders to apply mods and fix non-ascii issues with your own script?

Why do you accept that somebody else receives money for your work ????

Off topic - nothing do with new images !

No like ? No install it - just wait for user to post it - I proud what did from beginning !
8 steps need when ask question -

- PHP version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- mySQL version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- 4images version
- Post screenshot / URL
- Post code in BB Code (no need full file for code) or post attach file
- It doesn't work. What is say - what is do for no work
- Install MOD ? If so - please say (troubleshooting)
- Read FAQ ? Install Bug fixes ?

Offline Nicky

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.195
    • View Profile
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #50 on: August 10, 2007, 04:45:23 PM »
and again,

PEACE please  8)

brothers:
for wishes post your wishes and suggestions here > http://www.4homepages.de/forum/index.php?board=2.0 :)
cheers
Nicky
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question ! (© by V@no)
- please read the Forum Rules ...
- please study the FAQ ...
- please try to Search for your answer ...

nicky.net 4 4images
Signature stolen from mawenzi

Offline thunderstrike

  • 4images Guru
  • *******
  • Posts: 2.327
    • View Profile
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #51 on: August 10, 2007, 08:16:36 PM »
Thank Nicky.
8 steps need when ask question -

- PHP version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- mySQL version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- 4images version
- Post screenshot / URL
- Post code in BB Code (no need full file for code) or post attach file
- It doesn't work. What is say - what is do for no work
- Install MOD ? If so - please say (troubleshooting)
- Read FAQ ? Install Bug fixes ?

Offline IndianMonk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Img Hunt
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #52 on: August 19, 2007, 09:57:31 PM »
below that line insert:
Code: [Select]
$config['image_cells'] = XX;Where XX is the number of images per row.

Not working for me. I m using 1.7.4. Pls help.

Offline thunderstrike

  • 4images Guru
  • *******
  • Posts: 2.327
    • View Profile
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #53 on: August 19, 2007, 11:16:20 PM »
Quote
Not working for me.

Is say ?  :roll:
8 steps need when ask question -

- PHP version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- mySQL version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- 4images version
- Post screenshot / URL
- Post code in BB Code (no need full file for code) or post attach file
- It doesn't work. What is say - what is do for no work
- Install MOD ? If so - please say (troubleshooting)
- Read FAQ ? Install Bug fixes ?

Offline IndianMonk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
    • Img Hunt
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #54 on: August 22, 2007, 06:57:47 AM »
Ya...I did all edits..but nothing happening to me. How to make it work?

Offline thunderstrike

  • 4images Guru
  • *******
  • Posts: 2.327
    • View Profile
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #55 on: August 22, 2007, 07:01:11 AM »
Quote
How to make it work?

By post exact error.
8 steps need when ask question -

- PHP version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- mySQL version (ACP - > phpinfo())
- 4images version
- Post screenshot / URL
- Post code in BB Code (no need full file for code) or post attach file
- It doesn't work. What is say - what is do for no work
- Install MOD ? If so - please say (troubleshooting)
- Read FAQ ? Install Bug fixes ?

Offline skidpics

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #56 on: September 26, 2007, 05:40:24 AM »
If you would like to show more new images on your 4images homepage, you will need:
Open index.php
Find:
Code: [Select]
$num_new_images = $config['image_cells'];Replace it with:
Code: [Select]
$num_new_images = XX;Where XX is the number of images.

What can you adjust to allow the image_cells variable to be used, but adding additional rows instead of allowing it to overflow into 1 row only - in other words, use that variable, but make it wrap around to keep the theme together?  At this point, 5 looks fine, but if you want 20 new image_cells, which is the setting new_images uses, it will make it one giant row, instead of making 4 rows of 5 each.,  Random images will then also use the same variable, if you have that mod installed, or even better yet, have a seperate setting for this MOD in the admin area all together..  Any suggestions?

Offline ka

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: How can I show more new images on home page?
« Reply #57 on: October 01, 2008, 05:38:50 PM »
what if i want to insert bunch of random images instead new images at home page ?