Author Topic: Must I have ImageMagick, GD or NetPBM for thumbnails?  (Read 13462 times)

Offline Paprika

• View Profile
Must I have ImageMagick, GD or NetPBM for thumbnails?
« on: June 18, 2003, 09:39:37 AM »
Hi,

Basically my new host sucks and I don't believe they have  ImageMagick, GD or NetPBM installed, But I want an Art Gallery for my members which creates thumbnails from the fullsized art.

Please let me know what my options are.
Thanks  :D

Offline Vampy

• View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2003, 10:14:29 AM »
My experience is to advise you to go for NetPBM. it's very simple to install. Just download the necessary binaries and upload them to a folder on your server. That's it. Also, it generally produces better quality thumbnails then GD. If I'm not wrong, the newer versions of GD does not support .gif anymore.

Just my 2 cents. Someone else here may think differently and I'm no expert.
Julian

Offline Chris

• 4images Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • Did u ever stop to think and then forget to start?
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2003, 03:19:03 PM »
Yes.  You need one of those packages to generate thumbnails.  Your host would need to install ImageMagick or GD.  NetPBM can be installed by you.

Offline Paprika

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2003, 01:45:12 AM »
Great!  :D Thanks for the help guys!

Well here is the thing... I only see that I can download the source code or the RPM package from the NetPBM site... where can I find just the binaries?

Offline Chris

• 4images Moderator
  • 4images Guru
    • View Profile

Offline Paprika

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2003, 07:41:10 PM »
lol. I asked a question. What do I do?
You guys made it seem like all I need is ftp access. I don't have shell/SSH access so I cannot do anything with a RPM file. What should I do?