Author Topic: ImageMagick  (Read 23567 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline widgit19812

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
ImageMagick
« Reply #15 on: May 11, 2002, 08:33:38 PM »
Ive had a long chat with my host and they say its looks like a permissions problem.

What folder does it try to write the images to ( default )

Thanks


Steve

Offline Jan

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 5.024
    • View Profile
    • 4images - Image Gallery Management System
ImageMagick
« Reply #16 on: May 11, 2002, 09:25:27 PM »
The folder "data" and all folders in it must have chmod 777.

Jan
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
1. Forum rules
2. FAQ
3. Search

Offline Nicky

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.195
    • View Profile
ImageMagick
« Reply #17 on: May 12, 2002, 10:59:26 PM »
hi,

or maybe your convert tool is elsewhere ....

try in telnet / ssh

whereis convert
or
which convert
or
locate convert
cheers
Nicky
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question ! (© by V@no)
- please read the Forum Rules ...
- please study the FAQ ...
- please try to Search for your answer ...

nicky.net 4 4images
Signature stolen from mawenzi

Offline widgit19812

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
ImageMagick
« Reply #18 on: May 13, 2002, 10:47:42 AM »
Hi All

I have racked my brains on this and spent a lot of time talking to my host he's reinstalled my ImageMagick 3 times. I have managed to get it sometimes to create thumbnails ( 1 in 100 ). Has anyone got any clue why this may be happening.

My host has assured me that all paths and installation is correct.


Thanks


Steve

Offline Nicky

  • Administrator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 3.195
    • View Profile
ImageMagick
« Reply #19 on: May 13, 2002, 10:56:07 AM »
hi,

maybe is it the incorect installation of ImageMagick

they should try following
http://www.4homepages.de/forum/viewtopic.php?p=795#795
cheers
Nicky
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question ! (© by V@no)
- please read the Forum Rules ...
- please study the FAQ ...
- please try to Search for your answer ...

nicky.net 4 4images
Signature stolen from mawenzi

Offline JimmyGee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: ImageMagick
« Reply #20 on: April 10, 2005, 06:18:33 PM »
Ok, if you are REALLY sure that this is the right path, remove this code from the top of "admin/thumbnailer.php" and "admin/resizer.php" and try if it works.

Code: [Select]
if ($config['convert_tool'] == "im" && !is_executable($config['im_convert_path'])) {
  echo "<b class=\"marktext\">".$lang['im_error']."</b><br />\n";
  echo $lang['check_module_settings'];
  show_admin_footer();
  exit;
}

I had the same problem and yes ImageMagick does exist at the path I kept entering. On my last dedicated server I did not have to do this at all so i'm not sure on the cause but it seems to be server related or maybe a better imagemagick verifying routine can be coded :) Anyway to fix this problem in 4images 1.7.1 you have to do similar to what is mentioned above except you will find the code you need to delete in /includes/image_utils.php at around line 40. The code to delete is a little different to what Jan posted -
Code: [Select]
if (!@is_executable($convert_options['convert_path'])) {
      $convert_options['convert_error'] = "<b class=\"marktext\">".$lang['im_error']."</b><br />\n".$lang['check_module_settings'];
    }

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Re: ImageMagick
« Reply #21 on: April 10, 2005, 07:47:48 PM »
probably that's because your server is running on Windows system.
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline JimmyGee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: ImageMagick
« Reply #22 on: April 10, 2005, 10:55:47 PM »
no it's a Fedora3 nix... my last dedicated server was redhat9.0 nix
I've got a feeling it's the fedora setup that caused my problems, imagemagick was a hassle to install, I had to compile source because the fedora imagemagick.rpm package failed to install properly.

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Re: ImageMagick
« Reply #23 on: April 10, 2005, 11:09:01 PM »
ah, ok, then my explanation would be the is_executable() function was disabled on your server...but why???
windows systems dont have that function by default.
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Re: ImageMagick
« Reply #24 on: April 10, 2005, 11:13:00 PM »
another alternative of removing something from the code is add this in includes/functions.php
Code: [Select]
if (!function_exists("is_executable"))
{
  function is_executable ()
  {
    return true;
  }
}
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline JimmyGee

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: ImageMagick
« Reply #25 on: April 20, 2005, 05:10:49 PM »
also coppermine does not have this trouble at all. It picked up ImageMagick by itself. Maybe you should check their code to see how the IM check is done properly.

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Re: ImageMagick
« Reply #26 on: April 21, 2005, 12:40:36 AM »
Copermine is probably only "guessing" the location. The default location of imagemagic files is in /usr/bin/ directory, but any hosts could install it anywhere they want.
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)