Author Topic: HTML in image description stopped working after upgrade to 1.7.2  (Read 14367 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline brice626

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Hi there,

I updated from 1.7 to 1.7.2 containing the latest security fix -- after doing this, the HTML in the description field stopped working (example: http://www.benjaminbrice.com/forimages/details.php?image_id=864)

Any idea why?

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Re: HTML in image description stopped working after upgrade to 1.7.2
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2006, 01:59:49 AM »
the HTML in the description field stopped working
"stoped working" is a very poor description of the problem. visiting the site - I had no idea what I'm supposed to look at.
So, please take a few minutes of your time and describe IN DETAILS of what supposed to happend and what actualy happening.
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline brice626

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: HTML in image description stopped working after upgrade to 1.7.2
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2006, 02:01:08 AM »
The link should take you to a page where in the description field, the raw HTML code is displayed.

Previous to the upgrade, the HTML "performed its function" - in this case, displaying a smiley-face image.

Edit: Earlier I also posted in this thread as I thought you might be talking about the problem I'm experiencing: http://www.4homepages.de/forum/index.php?topic=12720.15

Offline brice626

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: HTML in image description stopped working after upgrade to 1.7.2
« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2006, 03:53:31 PM »
Any ideas? Sorry to bug :(

Offline V@no

  • If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
  • Global Moderator
  • 4images Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 17.849
  • mmm PHP...
    • View Profile
    • 4images MODs Demo
Re: HTML in image description stopped working after upgrade to 1.7.2
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2006, 05:22:59 AM »
I'd not suggest allow HTML anywhere where regular member can add their stuff...
anyways in includes/functions.php find:
Code: [Select]
  $description = (!empty($image_row['image_description'])) ? format_text($image_row['image_description'], 0) : REPLACE_EMPTY;
Replace 0 with 1
Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)

Offline unifem

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: HTML in image description stopped working after upgrade to 1.7.2
« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2006, 05:37:57 PM »
I had the same problem, and V@no's solution works. Thank you, V@no.

But I just wanted to suggest that maybe this could be an option in the admin panel -- i.e., a checkbox for "Allow HTML in description? Yes/No."

Regards.

Offline brice626

  • Pre-Newbie
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: HTML in image description stopped working after upgrade to 1.7.2
« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2006, 06:09:08 PM »
Worked for me too. Thanks V@no!

I'm the only user who uploads but I appreciate the security concern as well. Thanks again.

Offline Gwydion

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
    • View Profile
Re: HTML in image description stopped working after upgrade to 1.7.2
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2006, 01:56:00 PM »
I had the same problem. It confused me quite some time that in the cp at descriptions it said "html allowed" while it clearly was not. IMHO that's something that should be corrected in upcoming releases.

 

Post your comments here