4images Forum & Community
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 18, 2018, 01:37:23 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
Togle to toolbar
Translate this page with =>
Translate this page >
* Home Help Search Login Register
 
+  4images Forum & Community
|-+  4images Modifications / Modifikationen
| |-+  Templates & Styles (Requests & Discussions) (Moderator: Rembrandt)
| | |-+  Show a thumbnail instead of a folder icon next to category
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: «« « 1 2 [3] 4 » »» Print
Author Topic: Show a thumbnail instead of a folder icon next to category  (Read 126846 times)
tdkpaul
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 205

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


View Profile
« Reply #30 on: August 01, 2006, 10:09:01 PM »

what
Logged
V@no
If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
Administrator
4images Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 17849

Thank You
-Given: 47
-Receive: 577

mmm PHP...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #31 on: August 01, 2006, 10:12:57 PM »

The last "question" was almost 8 months ago....but, yes - WHAT?
Logged

Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)
WeZ
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 72

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


View Profile
« Reply #32 on: August 16, 2006, 01:02:14 AM »

Hi V@no,

in my categories bit i have
1
2
  {ifno random_cat_image_file}<img src="{template_url}/images/folder.gif" width="20" height="13" alt="" />{endifno random_cat_image_file}
      {if random_cat_image_file}<a href="{cat_url}"><img src="{random_cat_image_file}" border="1"></a>{endif random_cat_image_file}

In my root i have my main categories which have subcategories and there are pictures in these main categories. in my subcategories and their subcategories, the random category image is working perfectly - but in my root (main page) i get the standard folder icon as well as en empty image icon where a category image is trying to load.

any ideas?

Kind Regards,
WeZ
Logged
V@no
If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
Administrator
4images Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 17849

Thank You
-Given: 47
-Receive: 577

mmm PHP...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #33 on: August 16, 2006, 01:11:35 AM »

If you have no images in the categories shown on home page, then it explains everything...
Logged

Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)
WeZ
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 72

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


View Profile
« Reply #34 on: August 16, 2006, 01:19:18 AM »

i know it's late on my side of the planet, but i beleive my sentence does state that i DO have images in these main categories  Wink
Logged
V@no
If you don't tell me what to do, I won't tell you where you should go :)
Administrator
4images Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 17849

Thank You
-Given: 47
-Receive: 577

mmm PHP...


View Profile WWW
« Reply #35 on: August 16, 2006, 01:51:47 AM »

Oh, right...sorry...
I just checked on a fresh v1.7.3 and it worked just fine...though, I had to manualy activate the SHOW_RANDOM_CAT_IMAGE in includes/constants.php
So, if its activated (including the SHOW_RANDOM_IMAGE) then I dont know what could be wrong...perhaps other modifications you've made?
Logged

Your first three "must do" before you ask a question:
Please do not PM me asking for help unless you've been specifically asked to do so. Such PMs will be deleted without answer. (forum rule #6)
Extension for Firefox/Thunderbird: Master Password+    Back/Forward History Tweaks (restartless)    Cookies Manager+    Fit Images (restartless for Thunderbird)
WeZ
Jr. Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 72

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


View Profile
« Reply #36 on: August 16, 2006, 10:54:35 AM »

Hi V@no,

thats always a possibility. Can i submit the php of my files for you to view? if so, which files are pertinent to this function?

Kind Regards,
WeZ
Logged
Powka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 12

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


View Profile
« Reply #37 on: September 20, 2006, 02:51:36 PM »

Hello.

I'd like to ask, how can I resize the picture in random image window? It's just a little too big for random image window and it deforms all the template. Thanks in advance.
Logged
nfprehn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 41

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #38 on: October 28, 2006, 02:34:46 PM »

First of all, thank you for this random thumbnail add-on!

I am trying to replace the random thumbnail with a static thumbnail, so that there is always just one designated thumbnail per category.

My code is as follows:

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
<td valign="top">
     

{if random_cat_image_file}<a href="{cat_url}"><img src="{random_cat_image_file}" border="0"></a>{endif random_cat_image_file}

     

    </td>
    <tr bgcolor="#dddddd">
<td height="25"> <a href="{cat_url}" class="maincat">{cat_name}</a>&nbsp;({num_images})
      {if cat_is_new}<sup class="new">{lang_new}</sup>{endif cat_is_new} </td>
  </tr>

I am struggling to replace this with a particular thumbnail for each category without destroying how categories are created and linked to the control panel.   Shocked

Has anyone done this or do you have any suggestions?
Logged

JensF
Addicted member
******
Offline Offline

Posts: 1028

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #39 on: February 02, 2007, 08:30:59 AM »

Hi,

i have the same problem with a fresh 1.7.4.

In the subcats i see the random image, in the main not Sad

see this -> main cat -> http://www.terraristik-galerie.de/neuegalerie/index.php

and this -> sub cat -> http://www.terraristik-galerie.de/neuegalerie/categories.php?cat_id=6

What is the error???

on 1.7 i have not this problem...
Logged

Mit freundlichem Gruß
Jens Funk



-> Sorry for my bad English <-
JensF
Addicted member
******
Offline Offline

Posts: 1028

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #40 on: February 02, 2007, 03:04:07 PM »

No one an idea?

I have seen that the image URL ist not an URL to an image. its the url to the index.php

Logged

Mit freundlichem Gruß
Jens Funk



-> Sorry for my bad English <-
Acidgod
4images Moderator
4images Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2420

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 2

It's me?


View Profile WWW
« Reply #41 on: February 02, 2007, 03:23:09 PM »

Also bei meiner 1.7.4 läuft es ohne Probleme...
Habe nur das Template geändert und dann noch in der constants.php den Wert von 0 auf 1 gestellt und zack war alles wie gewünscht vorhanden...

Musst also was vergessen haben oder was weiss ich, sicher das Du noch keine Mods eingebaut hast? (o:
Logged

JensF
Addicted member
******
Offline Offline

Posts: 1028

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 0


View Profile WWW
« Reply #42 on: February 02, 2007, 06:22:55 PM »

Also ich habe auch nur die category_bit.html und die constants.php geändert. Mehr habe ich bei der frischen installation noch nicht gemacht.

Das einzige was ich habe ist die alte Datenbank. Aber das ganze hat ja nichts mit der Datenbank zu tun. Sehr merkwürdig, vor allem weil es bei der 1.7 er Version funktioniert hat.
Logged

Mit freundlichem Gruß
Jens Funk



-> Sorry for my bad English <-
Acidgod
4images Moderator
4images Guru
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2420

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 2

It's me?


View Profile WWW
« Reply #43 on: February 02, 2007, 06:30:58 PM »

Na dann installiere mal eine frische 1.7.4, dann wirst du sehen das es dort auch geht... (o:

Und das kann natürlich auch an der Datenbank liegen!

Weil wenn man Daten mit der Wildcard * abfragt  bekommt man die Daten ungefährt so zurück "bl, bla, blabla, blablabla" ist blabla jetzt ein von dir hinzugefügtes Feld gibt es Probleme weil das Script eigentlich an der Stelle blablabla erwartet, verstehste?
Logged

AntiNSA2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 774

Thank You
-Given: 0
-Receive: 2

As long as I can finish my site before I die.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #44 on: July 01, 2007, 10:51:42 AM »

Ok, I know I used to have a mod working to show random cat image instead of thumbnail even when there was no image in the category (only fro the subcategory) as some others have asked for.

I have sine upgraded to 1.74 and have searched the forum... I am guessing the thread was lost with the cmoplete forum durring that terrible hack....

If this thread exists where ut us possible to do this can someone post a link to it for me?

If not help me with a direct clue about how to show random pics from sub-categories as category image....

Thanks-
Robert
Logged

As long as I can finish my site before I die.
Pages: «« « 1 2 [3] 4 » »» Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.079 seconds with 20 queries.